On Writing

Every author has a differing perspective on what writing means to them. I’d have to call myself a pragmatic writer…writing is an enjoyable activity, but can only be slipped into the limited time available around all my other responsibilities. I had plenty of flex time for the writing of Regression, my debut novel, while on maternity leave from work, but no more children are planned (four is enough, LOL!); squeezing in writing time is more of a challenge.

I think I am fortunate that when I take the time to write, the writing happens almost unconsciously.  I feel like I am watching a movie in my head, and transcribing the action. Very rarely during the drafting of the first rendition do I hit a blank. It is more difficult to compose the ‘filler’ in a second round, where aspects need to be added to the manuscript in order to maintain continuity, add clarification, or flesh out lightly written passages.

I am fast on the keyboard, so from that aspect there is little impediment between my thoughts in my head and my words on paper. Today I plan to add another five thousand words to Evolussion, the sequel to Regression, while also fitting in the dogs, kids, horses, and some quiet time with a very understanding husband.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vvdenman
    Jan 30, 2010 @ 21:36:17

    Except for a few minor details, it sounds as though we are living parallel lives. Good luck with Evolussion. 🙂

    Reply

    • kathylbell
      Jan 31, 2010 @ 01:00:09

      Sorry for the delayed approval, didn’t know how to finalize the approval!

      I think the more you live, the more you know, the more you can breathe life into your characters and make them three-dimensional. Enjoy your writing;)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,198 other followers

