Puppies: A Balm to the Soul

It’s been almost a year since we had puppies in the house. And it’s been a rough couple of years. So much so, that we’ve debated about ending our 15 year breeding program which has produced some wonderful champions. None quite so awesome as our multi-Best In Show Winning, AKC/CKC champ Crusader, but all just as well-loved. Still, the heartaches when things go wrong get overwhelming when compounded by difficulties in other aspects of our lives. My writing has been my escape from those frustrations because there is no ‘investment’ for me, aside from the obvious personal energy which is more a release than a drain. I don’t have to rely on writing, I’m not expecting anything from it (so of course every positive review is a bonus), and writing is not my primary life activity. I wasn’t sure I was going to bother continuing writing after finishing the first book, but have enjoyed it so much I will continue beyond the Infinion Trilogy.

Anyway, having puppies in the house really brings back to the surface the reason for breeding. Seeing those little lives developing, knowing I created them literally from conception, watching personalities emerge and quirks manifest, it all is refreshing the wonder and the joy which trajedy and hardship had been stripping from my kennel. I will have to think of auspicious names for this litter because I am hoping it provides the rebirth of my dedication. I was not sure I was going to be able to continue with the heartbreak, but hopefully the times are a changin. Even with the string of bad luck last week that revolved around trying to complete a promising breeding, I still feel more positive than I have in a while.

So, perhaps I’ll see everyone in the show ring this year.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,198 other followers

